Thursday, September 20, 2012

Get Your Pitch On precompetition details




Here's the details you've been waiting for!

Commissioning and Managing Editor of Hardie Grant Egmont, Marisa Pintado, will be poised and ready to take your pitches both here on Down Under Wonderings and on my group blog YAtopia on October 15th.

Marisa is looking for YA in any genre and is accepting submissions from any where in the world. It's your chance to skip the slush pile and put your pitch right under the nose of a fantastic editor. There's even better news - there is no limit on how many requests Marisa will make from the contest.

EDIT: Submission window details can be found HERE as well as an interview with Marisa.

Here's the rules:

  • Your manuscript must be complete, polished and ready to query - this means no first drafts or almost finished manuscripts.
  • It must be YA.
  • When the contest goes live on October 15th, post your entry details in the comments section of either YAtopia or Down Under Wonderings - each blog is accepting 100 entries only.
  • Your entry detail needs to include a 50 - 70 word pitch.
  • You can enter more than once if you have more than one complete, polished, ready to query manuscript.
Your contest details should be formatted like this:

Name: Sharon Johnston
Email: smjohnston [ @ ] live.com.au
Country of residence: Australia
Title: SLEEPER
Genre: Speculative Fiction
Word-count: 58,000
Pitch: Seventeen-year-old Mishca Richardson is a sleeper soldier with a weak heart. She has no idea that a life saving heart transplant has accidentally triggered her programming. In the search for answers, she discovers the truth and that her creator, Wirth, has classified her remaining "sisters" from her experiment group as defective, scheduling them for termination. Mishca sets out to save them before they're eliminated.

Just as it's important to get someone else to look over your manuscript before you query, it's a good idea to get feedback on your pitch before you post. We have about twenty blogs who are ready to help you hone your pitch. These workshops start on October 1 and you can find the list of blogs participating here.

I'm so excited to bring this competition. So now it's time for you to Get Your Pitch On!





post signature


19 comments:

  1. We're super excited to be part of #PitchOn! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! This looks fantastic! Looking forward to the 15th! ^_^

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is a wonderful opportunity. Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Enter this pitching competition
    www.pitchyourbookaustralia.com
    Competition closes this weekend

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you for the opportunity. It's very exciting.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This looks very cool. I JUST found it. I wish I'd seen it before now, because I have barely any time to polish my pitch. I'm gonna do what I can though! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm a new follower btw, thanks for the great opportunity! :) Nice to meet you!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Is this comments section where we post our pitches? I'm nervous, I've never done this before and worry that's its going to open and close very quickly.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There will be a new post that will go live in about eight hours and then a second submission window on YAtopia in about sixteen hours. Check out the interview with Marisa for the exact timezone times.

      Delete
    2. Were the times published at the bottom of that interview the start or the end times for each window? I was expecting the competition to be live already but I wasn't sure if there was going to be a new post to leave our pitches in or if they were meant to go at the bottom of an existing post?
      Thanks for this!

      Delete
    3. I was about to ask the same question. Glad I read all the comments first. :)

      Delete
  9. The submission window times are clearly spelt out on the bottom of the interview with Marisa. Because this is international, it goes live when it's the 15th New York time:

    Window submission times for October 15
    Submission Window 1
    Down Under Wonderings:
    New York: 12 am
    London: 5am
    Brisbane: 2pm
    Sydney: 3pm

    Submission Window 2
    YAtopia
    October 15:
    New York: 8 am
    London: 1pm
    Brisbane: 10pm
    Sydney: 11pm
    Remember - there will only be 100 entries per blog.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Glad I found this!

    ReplyDelete
  11. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  12. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  13. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  14. THIS IS NOT WHERE YOU POST THE COMMENTS FOR THE COMPETITION.

    Please resubmit here: http://downunderwonderings.blogspot.com.au/2012/10/get-your-pitchon-submission-window-1.html

    ReplyDelete